September 24, 2014

Ralph Hawkins, chairman of HKS, Inc., and 2015 chair of the Dallas Regional Chamber, has been named the recipient of the 13th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas and Texas Woman’s University (TWU) and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation. 

“As the new chancellor and president of TWU, it is an honor to be a part of this 13th annual luncheon event, presenting the prestigious Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award to one of Dallas’ most outstanding leaders and businessmen,” said Carine M. Feyten Ph.D. “Ralph Hawkins’ impact can be seen through his work and in his love of education and ongoing mentoring of students in his profession. We look forward to his leadership as the 2015 chair of the Dallas Regional Chamber, where we know his passion to make a difference will continue to improve the quality of life for others." 

Established in 2002, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award is presented annually to Dallas leaders with a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life in the community and to furthering the importance of education. The award recognizes the life work of Virginia Chandler Dykes as an outstanding healthcare provider, whose professional and civic achievements represent a lifetime committed to helping others.  Past award recipients are Mary Brinegar, 2014; Patricia and Curtis Meadows, 2013; Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, 2012; Joel Allison, 2011; Kathleen Mason, 2010; Caroline Rose Hunt, 2009; T. Boone Pickens, 2008; Lindalyn Adams, 2007; Dr. and Mrs. Kern Wildenthal, 2006; Gretchen Minyard Williams and J.L. “Sonny” Williams, 2005; Geraldine “Tincy” Miller, 2004; and Susan and Charles Cooper, 2003.  

"I am honored to be chosen for the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award and flattered to be in the company of the previous recipients who represent the caring commitment and leadership she exemplifies," said Hawkins. "Virginia Dykes has had a big impact as a dynamic healthcare provider and community leader. I had the honor of working with her in 1984 on a major building addition at Baylor University Medical Center. That makes this award even more meaningful to me as a healthcare architect." 

Prior to becoming chairman of the board of HKS, Inc., Ralph Hawkins served as its CEO for 12 years, overseeing the planning and design of more than $1 billion worth of projects throughout the world totaling 40 million square feet. In the Dallas area alone, HKS' designs include Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas Hamon Tower, AT&T Stadium for the Dallas Cowboys, and Texas Woman's University T. Boone Pickens Institute of Health Sciences-Dallas Center, as well as expansion of both DFW Airport's Terminal D and the Kay Bailey Hutchinson Convention Center. He has been named Best Executive for a Professional Service Firm by the National American Business Awards; CEO of the Year (large firm category) by the Professional Services Management Journal; and one of the "Top 25 Best Bosses" by a Fortune magazine survey.

Hawkins has been active in AIA College of Fellows, William Ward Watkin Society at Rice University, AIA Academy for Health, Design Futures Council, Council of Fellows of American College of Healthcare Architects, United Way, AIA Large Firm Round Table, Construction Industry Round Table, University of Texas at Arlington Development Board Chair, University of Texas Chancellor's Executive Committee, and The Arts Community Alliance of Dallas. As the 2015 incoming chair of the Dallas Regional Chamber, he will continue his commitment to the ongoing improvement of the quality of life in the city of Dallas.

HKS, Inc. is a leading architectural design firm ranked among the top five architectural engineering firms, according to Building Design+Construction magazine. Since its founding in 1939, HKS has completed construction projects totaling more than $77 billion in more than 1,498 cities located in 84 countries. The firm operates from 27 offices worldwide. For more information, contact Trish Martineck at

Posted in All Markets, Health
Tagged Ralph Hawkins, Texas Woman's University, Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award